Each year your credit union is responsible for scheduling and holding a meeting that provides members with the opportunity to learn more about the performance of their financial institution. The Metro Credit Union Annual Meeting is actually much more than that.

In addition to reports outlining our activities and current financial status, those in attendance also get a glimpse into the future plans of the credit union. This meeting also can serve as an opportunity for members to participate in the selection of the volunteer Board members who meet monthly to set the goals and policies that help guide the credit union.

The Annual Meeting is not all business though. We also invite members to enjoy a nice meal and we always finish the evening with a fun game that rewards those attending with some great door prizes.

This year’s meeting is scheduled for February 27th and will be held at the Embassy Suites Hotel in LaVista. All Metro members are invited to attend, and tickets may be purchased at any Metro office beginning in February.

As part of the election process, each year those attending the meeting vote to fill Board positions of three current directors whose terms are scheduled to expire. This year those Directors are: J. Michael “Mick” Connolly, Tim Lonergan and Robert Nelson.

Each of these individuals has expressed an interest in serving an additional three-year term. As a result, the Nominating Committee has placed these three names in nomination. According to credit union bylaws, in the event that no other candidates are identified, and the number of open positions is equal to the number of candidates, no actual ballot election will be held. Bylaws do not allow for nominations from the floor.

Current Metro Credit Union Members in good standing who have an interest in running for the Board may submit a petition signed by 1% of the membership to the Nominating Committee by January 14, 2015.

Metro Credit Union’s Board of Directors are unpaid individuals who meet monthly as well as make themselves available for training throughout the year. Meet the three current Directors who have expressed interest in serving another term.